bu11etpoints = Kelsey+Uganda

Alright, why on earth did I name my blog bu11etpoints? Here are some bullet-points to explain.

  • First, ignore the “11” in place of the “ll”… it turns out someone else already thought to use the blog name ‘bulletpoints’ so I had to get creative. (Thank you Mom and Casey). Also that was my soccer jersey number when I was a kid, so there.
  • In today’s “over-saturated-everyone’s-got-a-blog world” most of us don’t have time to read long winded paragraphs about the lives, thoughts, struggles, and triumphs of the people we follow. (Or maybe that’s just me?)
  • I don’t have time to write out long winded paragraphs about MY life, thoughts, struggles, and triumphs… but I still want to share them with you somehow! (Per the encouragement of Meredith.)

Lastly and most importantly (brace yourself, I am going to drop the bullet-points for a second), This summer I embark on a trip to Northern Uganda!!!

I will be working with children and young adults who survived the war between Ugandan government and the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA). And though the war has been over for nearly 4 years, the consequences in its aftermath are far reaching and striking. The fact that these children survived and are thriving is incredible, and I get to go work with them!

Image

This morning I was talking with my friend Devon who works with the organization I am partnering with, Children of Peace Uganda. Midway through our conversation she said,

“Some of the kids have bullet wounds.”

The statement stuck.

So, in light of the brevity with which I prefer to write and the powerful words of Devon, I have named the blog, bu11etpoints. And like I mentioned before, we’ll all just have to ignore the awkward “11.”

 

To give please use the PayPal button below. All donations go straight to the project. Click this button, it will take you where you need to go. If you do not have a PayPal account that is no problem, you can still use PayPal. Just look for the “Don’t Have a PayPal?”

Awpoyo & ameri matek!

Leave a Reply

