First run : The lovely faces and sights of Entebbe, Uganda

Good morning from Uganda! My first run was awesome and hopefully will rust-bust my jet-leg. Here’s hoping.

As I am sure you can imagine I was not the only out early this morning… check out these photos from my run.

Having stayed near the airport I ran a route that took me out near Lake Victoria. The scenery was beautiful- the humidity was intense.

DSCN5150

About a mile into my run I met Liam, a little boy smiling alongside his mother tending her garden.

Liam_08012013

Further down the road I ran past a church full of people worshiping at a mid-week service. The sun is not quite out yet, and the sky really makes for a beautiful backdrop.

DSCN5147

As I continued on I met school children on their way to class. When I asked these two for permission to take their photo the older sister replied, “Yes please.” So Sweet.

DSCN5148

Near the turn around point of my run I noticed this huge building/house. My best guess it that it is an abandoned colonial. Despite it’s worn condition it is still really beautiful and makes me wonder how it could be restored and used today?

DSCN5162

Toward the end of my run I saw a boy out for a run himself- granted he was probably in a rush to get to school, but still, seeing him jogging out there was such an exciting reminder of why I have come to Uganda.

DSCN5156

It is hard to explain just how happy I am to be here! Uganda has welcomed me kindly and I could not be more grateful. Happy running to you today… get on out there and get your miles in!

From the Pearl of Africa,

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

